BJP-led govt wins floor test in Manipur; CM Biren Singh gets support from 33 MLAs

Share On

Manipur Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren Singh on Monday won face floor test in the 60-member state Assembly after getting support from 33 lawmakers.

Also, BJP’s Yumnam Khemchand Singh has been elected as the Speaker of the state assembly
N. Biren Singh was sworn in as the first BJP Chief Minister of Manipur on March 16.

Earlier, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) lodged all its legislators in a Guwahati hotel along with an Independent and a Trinamool Congress lawmaker since Thursday.

Only two BJP MLAs including the Chief Minister were inducted in the BJP-led ministry, while four MLAs of NPP, one each of NPF, LJP and the Congress legislator who joined the saffron party were included in the ministry.

The BJP won 21 seats and formed the state government with support of four each MLAs of NPP and NPF, one MLA of LJP and one each lawmaker of Congress and Trinamool Congress who joined the saffron party

Share On

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *